Astrology and Horoscopes

Aries Archetype

Core Insights for Aries

Mode: Outward (Activating, Initiating, Creating, Expressing, Illuminating)

Element: Fire (Essence, Vitality, Identity, Consciousness, Energy)

Archetypal Images: Warrior, Leader, Hero, Adventurer, Initiator, Light Bearer

Planetary Governor: Mars

House Association: 1st House (Ascendant)

Body Wisdom: Head, Face, Adrenals, Blood

Spiritual Principle: Action “Seize the Moment”

Harmonious: Bold, Daring, Courageous, Innocent, Pioneering, Vigorous, Competitive, Independent, Explosive, Adventurous, Assertive, Enthusiastic, Expressive, Outgoing.

Shadow: Aggressive, Pushy, Rash, Impulsive, Egotistical, Selfish, Conflictive, Headstrong, Reckless, Competitive, Dominating, Abusive, Destructive, Risk-taking.

Aries is the archetype of heroic action. It is the natural component within us all that calls for us to overcome challenges through courage, initiative, and leadership. Destiny welcomes initiative and free will. It is our greatest gift if used correctly. The word courage comes from the root “cour” which means heart, center, or core.

Arian energy is the active core of our innocent spiritual journey in the flesh. Courage manifests when you fear the path ahead, but take the first step anyway, seizing the moment to pioneer vigorously into new frontiers of consciousness and living. Aries calls us to act in line with our highest ideals. The Spring Equinox is defined as the first day of Aries. The Western Tropical zodiac is based on the natural cycle of the seasonal turning points and their developmental stages.

The spiritual zodiac of the archetypal spectrum of possibilities is literally mapped onto this cycle. The point that the sun crosses the Spring Equinox (called the Aries Ingress) indicates against the backdrop of the heavens what Age we are moving through. It takes 26,000 years to complete a Great Year, twelve astrological ages. The Aries point is like a giant clock hand marking the passage of time.

Aries and Mars symbolize the quest to express individuality, to assert willpower, and to create vitality for initiating new cycles of experience. It symbolizes beginnings and the state of beginner’s mind that is characterized by natural innocence and explosive power. In astrology the aspect called the conjunction is associated with the Aries archetype.

Aries is the individual separate from the universe, raging forth into awareness of life with ceaseless vitality. It represents the human will to survive against the odds. It is the spiritual warrior who knows that the only true battle is within.

Bold Aries inspires you to take initiative in the field of life experience that it is shining into in your chart. That house is where you need to be a source of encouragement, leadership, energy, and heroism. The same goes for the house that contains Mars, the red planet that governs Aries. It is in these realms that you can lead others out of darkness into light.

Aries governs the blood and the adrenals. When you are charged with adrenalin and your blood is quickening you are experiencing the body wisdom of Aries.

When your Aries energy is misdirected it can be heavily destructive in its explosion of selfhood. In shadow, Aries becomes a crude warlord of strength and power, oblivious to the needs and concerns of other people. It wants to crush all threats to its supremacy acting without forethought using or destroying those who lie in its path. Learn to overcome the shadow through expressing the opposite sign Libra, gaining diplomacy, justice, and social grace. The key word Competitive makes the dark and light side of Aries. It’s a fine line between healthy competition (iron sharpening iron) and unhealthy cruel competition acted out in macho egotism.

The spiritual principle of Aries is Action. Activity in life is easier talked about than completed. Courage is the key to living this principle, having your head connected to your heart, Mars to the Sun in your chart. Mars is like the henchman or first knight of the Sun. If it serves the Sun energy faithfully then the kingdom of heaven within thrives!

The key is to practice putting your ideas and dreams into action through utilizing your energy, focusing your will, making sacrifices, setting goals, and taking healthy risks. Don’t be afraid to start a new venture. Everything we create begins as an invisible idea in the plane of thought. Mars and Aries are the power we need to bring idea into manifestation. The symbol for Aries is an exploding fountain of flames forever daring to rush forth and initiate new experience. It also resembles the ram’s head.

Last updated on August 16, 2017 at 2:26 am. Word Count: 725