Astrology and Horoscopes

The Cardinal Signs of the Zodiac

The Cardinal Signs of the Zodiac (Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn)

Learn More About Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn

What does it mean to be a cardinal sign and how does cardinality affect these four signs?

As discussed in Astrology for Beginners: Elements and Qualities, there are 12 signs of the zodiac: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Cardinal Signs Initiate, Create and Instigate

The four cardinal signs of the zodiac are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. Notice how each cardinal sign brings in a new season. Aries, the first sign of the zodiac, ushers in spring. Cancer notes the beginner of summer. Libra brings in the fall. Capricorn marks the beginner of winter.

Not only do the signs usher in seasons, they also initiate action. Cardinal signs are often leaders of projects and / or communities and executives of big companies. They are extremely ambitious and are often quite self-assertive and confident.

How Cardinality Manifests in Cardinal Signs

Each cardinal sign belongs to a different element. Aries is the cardinal fire sign. Cancer is the cardinal water sign. Libra is the cardinal air sign, and Capricorn is the cardinal earth sign.


As the cardinal fire sign, Aries leads others with his spirit as the element of fire has to do with spirit and transformation. In this way, Aries will inspire others with his ambition to initiate new surroundings. His power is often so strong, he can move mountains. He is known for his vision and his determination because he is driven by being both a cardinal sign and a fire sign.


As the cardinal water sign, Cancer initiates changes of the heart and emotions as the water element controls the subconscious and feelings. Cancer will express authority and power in a very different way to that of the Aries and will often go about obtaining authority in a roundabout way to avoid confrontation. Cancer’s abilities to stir human emotion are unmatched in the zodiac.


As the cardinal air sign, Libra initiates the human dimension of the zodiac as the air element represents communication. In the air element, Libra initiates the contact between people and this is why Libra controls relationships, partnerships and unions. They will often initiate social gatherings and their relationships take priority into their lives.


As the cardinal earth sign, Capricorn initiates changes related to the material world as the element earth controls the matters of the world and firm grounding. They frequently rise to the top of any organization they join. They are wise earthly leaders who make the best of resources and can be quite thrifty. As a result of their great success, it is no wonder that many of them enjoy excellent reputations at the workplace and in their communities.

For more information on modes, elements and astrology, learn more about fixed signs of the zodiac (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius) and mutable signs of the zodiac (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces).

Last updated on April 28, 2017 at 1:19 pm. Word Count: 489