Astrology and Horoscopes

Classification Of Houses

Classification of Houses in Astrology

For better understanding, the houses are usually subdivided into hemispheres and quadrants.

Divided by hemispheres:

  • House 1-6, which fall below the horizon, are the personal houses.
  • House 7-12, which fall above the horizon, are the collective houses.

Divided into quadrants:

  • House 1-3 involve the development of a separate identity.
  • House 4-6 further differentiate the self in terms of relationships with one’s roots and self expression through skills and capabilities.
  • House 7-9 involve relationships with other people.
  • House 10-12 transcend the boundaries of the self into one’s society roles, relationships in groups, and connections to a higher power.

Divided into thirds the houses depict growth into successive levels of being.

  • House 1-4 involve the development of a sense of individual “me-ness.”
  • House 5-8 add the social component.
  • House 9-12 are the arena for development of a larger sense of one’s society role and connections with the unity of existence.

The houses can also be split into quadrants that take into account the various angles to each other:

  • Angular Houses 1, 4, 7, and 10
  • Succedent Houses 2, 5, 8, and 11
  • Cadent Houses 3, 6, 9, and 12.

By considering these different house configurations, we can see the supporting and competing energies that make up a birth chart.

While some may think all these ways to group and subgroup the houses is an undue amount of information, it actually reflects quite well the supporting and competing complexities of human existence that we live with daily and often try to understand.

Last updated on July 5, 2014 at 6:44 pm. Word Count: 242