Astrology and Horoscopes

The Mutable Signs of the Zodiac

The Mutable Signs of the Zodiac (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces)

Learn More About Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces

What does it mean to be a mutable sign and how does mutable quality affect these four signs?

As discussed in Astrology for Beginners: Elements and Qualities, there are 12 signs of the zodiac: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Mutable Signs Adapt, Change and Destroy

The four mutable signs of the zodiac are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. Notice how each mutable sign brings an end to a season. Gemini brings an end to the spring season. Virgo brings an end to the summer season. Sagittarius brings an end to the fall season and Pisces brings an end to the winter season.

Mutable signs are indicators of change. They have a natural instinct that drives them to bring about change or adaptation. Therefore, mutable signs contrast quite strongly to the fixed signs, which try to ground things.

Mutable signs will be the first to try a new thing to see if it’s better and they will also easily adapt to new situations. They are communicators and intellectuals so they often analyze projects, relationships and just about anything to see if they are worth keeping. They let go easier than both cardinal and fixed signs.

How the Mutable Quality Manifests in Mutable Signs

Each mutable sign belongs to a different element. Gemini is the mutable air sign. Virgo is the mutable earth sign. Sagittarius is the mutable fire sign, and Pisces is the mutable water sign.


geminiAs the mutable air sign, Gemini takes the depth of information the fixed air sign Aquarius has explored and communicates it. As an air sign and a mutable sign, Geminis are doubly inclined towards communicating. They love news and fresh ideas. They are easily restless and bored around what has already been done. They have excellent eyes for trends and “hot topics” because they always make it their business to know what’s up.


virgoAs the mutable earth sign, Virgo observes the grounding that has Taurus has created it and he inspects it. He is above all a realist and a perfectionist. He analyzes the best way to achieve material security and physical health. If he does not believe in the sustainability of a project or even of a relationship, he will not invest himself in it and he will drop it quite easily. Virgos can be extremely critical in a genius way and also in an emotional cold way, but they are hard working and good providers.


sagittariusAs the mutable fire sign, Sagittarius redirects the energy which is self-expression and travels outside of self. This means that the Sagittarius is an adventurer and adapts well to living abroad or places he is not from. Through traveling, Sagittarius gain tremendous insight into world cultures, philosophies and languages. They are also very open-minded as a result and regard everyone as equal citizens of the universe. They can be a bit tactless, risky and irresponsible, but they are also optimistic, fun-loving and philosophical types.


piscesAs the mutable water sign, Pisces changes the direction that the fixed Scorpio, who explores the depths of life and death. Pisces pull away from the world and have wild imaginations. They have an unworldliness about them that makes them sensitive to the needs of others and often quite psychic. Sometimes their dreams are so big, they need to escape into a dream world that is not real to others. They can also be vulnerable to people who take advantage of them and if they feel their emotions are too strong to deal with, they might turn to drugs or alcohol. However, if treated in the way they deserve, Pisces are beautiful, artistic people who are thoughtful and always put others before themselves.

Again, the purpose of mutable signs to change the direction of the element to which they belong. They are rebellious energies and are curious and communicative by nature. They can adapt to change and quite often embrace it than any other mode in the zodiac, and because of this, they are often considered catalysts for change.

For more information on modes, elements and astrology, learn more about cardinal signs (Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn) and fixed signs (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius).

Last updated on April 28, 2017 at 1:48 pm. Word Count: 713